SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 357

NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE

The Lanarkshire Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Amendment Order 2001

Made - - - - 28th September 2001

Coming into force - - 30th September 2001

The Scottish Ministers, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 12A(1) and 105(6) and (7) of, and paragraphs 1 and 3(1)(c) of Schedule 7A to, the National Health Service (Scotland) Act 1978(1) and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Lanarkshire Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Amendment Order 2001 and shall come into force on 30th September 2001.
- (2) In this Order "the principal Order" means the Lanarkshire Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1998(2).

Amendment of the principal Order

2. For article 4 of the principal Order there is substituted—

"Directors and trustees of the trust

4. The trust shall have, in addition to the chairman, 2 trustees and 5 executive directors.".

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 28th September 2001

SUSAN C DEACON
A member of the Scottish Executive

^{(1) 1978} c. 29; section 12A(1) was inserted by the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c. 19) ("the 1990 Act"), section 31 and amended by the Health Act 1999 (c. 8) ("the 1999 Act"), section 46; Schedule 7A was inserted by the 1990 Act, Schedule 6 and amended by the 1999 Act, Schedule 4, paragraph 62. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).

⁽²⁾ S.I.1998/2724, amended by S.S.I. 1999/78.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Lanarkshire Acute Hospitals National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1998 ("the 1998 Order"). Article 2 amends, by substitution, article 4 of the 1998 Order to reduce the number of trustees from 5 to 2. The number of executive directors remains unchanged.