1969. No. 24

INCI

NEW TOWNS AND TOWN DEVELOPMENT

Order Establishing a Development Commission

ORDER, DATED 5TH FEBRUARY 1969, MADE BY THE MINISTER OF DEVELOPMENT, UNDER SECTION 7 OF THE NEW TOWNS ACT (NORTHERN IRELAND) 1965.

I, the Right Honourable Ivan Neill, Minister of Development, in exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 7 of the New Towns Act (Northern Ireland) 1965(a), and of all other powers enabling me in that behalf, hereby make the following Order:—

Citation

1. This Order may be cited as the Londonderry Development Commission Order (Northern Ireland) 1969.

Establishment of Development Commission

2. A development commission to be known as the Londonderry Development Commission (hereinafter referred to as "the Commission") shall be and is hereby established to exercise the functions of a development commission in relation to the area designated by the Londonderry Area Designation Order (Northern Ireland) 1969(b).

Appointment of Members of the Commission

3. The following persons are hereby appointed as Members of the Commission:—

Jeffrey Stanford Agate, Esquire, O.B.E., B.Sc., C.Eng., A.M.I.Mech.E., F.I.Plant E., M.B.I.M., Quarry Knowe, Talbot Park, Londonderry.

James Thompson Eaton, Esquire, T.D., J.P., Ballyowen House, Waterside, Londonderry.

Thomas Gallagher, Esquire, 37 Talbot Park, Londonderry.

Robert Fleming Keys, Esquire, M.B., J.P., Molenan, Londonderry.

Brian Morton, Esquire, F.A.I., Old Forge House, Malone Road, Belfast.

Stephen McGonagle, Esquire, 3 Marlborough Road, Londonderry.

John Brian McGuckian, Esquire, B.Sc.(Econ.), Ardverna, Cloughmills, Co. Antrim.

Colonel Edgar Donald R. Shearer, O.B.E., T.D., D.L., Saltwater Cottage, Downpatrick.

Robert Gerard Toland, Esquire, J.P., 12 Aberfoyle Crescent South, London-derry.

Appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman

4. The said Brian Morton is hereby appointed as Chairman and the said Stephen McGonagle as Vice-Chairman of the Commission.

Tenure of Office

5. Subject to the provisions of Schedule 4 of the New Towns Act (Northern Ireland) 1965 the persons hereby appointed shall hold office for a period of 3 years.

Dated this 5th day of February 1969.

Ivan Neill,
Minister of Development for
Northern Ireland.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This Note is not part of the Order but is intended to indicate its general purport.)

This Order establishes the Londonderry Development Commission and appoints several persons to serve on this Commission for a period of 3 years.