STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2018 No. 8

HIGHER AND FURTHER EDUCATION

The Education (Recognised Bodies) Order (Northern Ireland) 2018

Made--I1th January 2018Coming into operation-11th January 2018

The Department for the Economy, in exercise of the powers conferred by Article 5(1) of the Education (Unrecognised Degrees) (Northern Ireland) Order 1988(1), and now vested in it(2) makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Education (Recognised Bodies) Order (Northern Ireland) 2018 and shall come into operation on 11th January 2018.

Recognised Bodies

2. The bodies listed in the Schedule are designated as bodies appearing to the Department to be recognised bodies for the purposes of the Education (Unrecognised Degrees) (Northern Ireland) Order 1988.

Revocation

3. The Education (Recognised Bodies) Order (Northern Ireland) 2005(3) is revoked.

⁽¹⁾ S.I. 1988/1989 (N.I. 22)

⁽²⁾ See S.R. 1999 No. 481, Article 5(b) and Schedule 3 Part II, which transferred the functions from the Department of Education to the Department of Higher and Further Education, Training and Employment, which was renamed the Department for Employment and Learning, "DEL", by Section 1 of 2001 c. 15 (N.I.). See S.R. 2016 No. 76, Article 6(1)(c) which transferred the functions from DEL to the Department for the Economy.

⁽**3**) S.R. 2005 No. 522

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department for the Economy on 11th January 2018



Trevor Cooper A senior officer of the Department for the Economy Abertay University

SCHEDULE

Article 2

Aberystwyth University / Prifysgol Aberystwyth AECC (Anglo-European College of Chiropractic) Anglia Ruskin University Archbishop of Canterbury, The Arden University (formerly known as Resource Development International) Arts University Bournemouth Ashridge Business School Aston University **Bangor** University Bath Spa University Birkbeck, University of London Birmingham City University **Bishop Grosseteste University Bournemouth University BPP** University Limited British School of Osteopathy, The Brunel University London Buckinghamshire New University Canterbury Christ Church University Cardiff Metropolitan University / Prifysgol Fetropolitan Caerdydd Cardiff University / Prifysgol Caerdydd City, University of London Coventry University Cranfield University De Montfort University Durham University Edge Hill University Edinburgh Napier University Falmouth University Glasgow Caledonian University Glyndŵr University / Prifysgol Glyndŵr Goldsmiths College, University of London Guildhall School of Music and Drama Harper Adams University Heriot-Watt University Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine (also known as Imperial College London)

King's College London Kingston University Lancaster University Leeds Arts University Leeds Beckett University Leeds Trinity University Liverpool Hope University Liverpool John Moores University London Business School London Institute of Banking and Finance, the London Metropolitan University London School of Economics and Political Science, the (LSE) London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, the London South Bank University Loughborough University Manchester Metropolitan University Middlesex University Newcastle University Newman University, Birmingham NCG Norwich University of the Arts Nottingham Trent University Oxford Brookes University Plymouth University Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh Queen Mary University of London Queen's University Belfast Regent's University London Robert Gordon University, The Royal Academy of Music Royal Agricultural University Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London Royal College of Art Royal College of Music Royal College of Nursing Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Royal Holloway, University of London Royal Northern College of Music Royal Veterinary College, University of London School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London Sheffield Hallam University Southampton Solent University St George's Hospital Medical School, University of London St Mary's University, Twickenham Staffordshire University Swansea University / Prifysgol Abertawe Teesside University The Open University Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance Ulster University University Campus Suffolk University College Birmingham University College London University College of Estate Management University College of Osteopathy University for the Creative Arts University of Aberdeen University of Bath University of Bedfordshire University of Birmingham University of Bolton University of Bradford University of Brighton University of Bristol University of Buckingham University of Cambridge University of Central Lancashire University of Chester University of Chichester University of Cumbria University of Derby University of Dundee University of East Anglia University of East London University of Edinburgh, The University of Essex University of Exeter University of Glasgow University of Gloucestershire University of Greenwich

University of Hertfordshire University of Huddersfield University of Hull University of Keele University of Kent University of Lancaster University of Law, The University of Leeds University of Leicester University of Lincoln University of Liverpool University of London University of Manchester University of Northampton, The University of Northumbria at Newcastle University of Nottingham University of Oxford University of Portsmouth University of Reading University of Roehampton University of Salford University of Sheffield University of South Wales / Prifysgol De Cymru University of Southampton University of St Andrews University of St Mark & St John, Plymouth University of Stirling University of Strathclyde University of Sunderland University of Surrey University of Sussex University of the Arts, London University of the Highlands and Islands University of the West of England, Bristol University of the West of Scotland University of Wales / Prifysgol Cymru University of Wales: Trinity Saint David / Prifysgol Cymru: Y Drndod Dewi Sant University of Warwick University of West London University of Westminster

University of Winchester, The University of Wolverhampton University of Worcester University of York Writtle University College York St John University

Institutions which may only award foundation degrees:

Blackpool and the Fylde College Grimsby Institute of Higher Education Hull College New College Durham Newcastle College Warwickshire College

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order revokes and replaces the Education (Recognised Bodies) Order (Northern Ireland) 2005. The Order lists all those bodies which appear to the Department for the Economy to be recognised within Article 3(2)(a) or (b) of the Education (Unrecognised Degrees) (Northern Ireland) Order 1988. Such bodies are either:-

(a) universities, colleges or other bodies authorised by Royal Charter or an Act of Parliament to grant degrees: or

(b) bodies which are for the time being permitted by any body falling within paragraph (a) to act on its behalf in the granting of degrees.

There are omitted from the Schedule to this Order a number of bodies that were listed in the previous Order but which have merged with other bodies. A number of new bodies have been included in the Schedule to this Order, as these bodies now appear to the Department for the Economy to fall within either (a) or (b) above and this includes bodies which may only award foundation degrees. The Schedule also takes account of name changes since the 2005 Order was made.

Article 3(1) of the 1988 Order makes it an offence to grant, offer to grant, or issue any invitation relating to certain unrecognised degrees and awards. That Article does not apply to any award made by a recognised body.