STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2012 No. 308

The Pharmacy (1976 Order) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012

Amendment of Article 19 of the principal Order

- 7. For paragraphs (2) to (11) of Article 19 of the principal Order (The Statutory Committee) substitute—
 - "(2) The Statutory Committee shall consist of—
 - (a) a lay member who is the chair;
 - (b) 2 lay members who are deputy chairs;
 - (c) 3 other lay members; and
 - (d) 6 members who are registered persons

all of whom shall be appointed by the Council.

- (3) A member of the Statutory Committee shall hold office for a period of 4 years from the date of appointment, but shall be eligible for re-appointment at the expiration of that period.
- (4) No member of the Statutory Committee may hold office for more than an aggregate of 8 years in any 20 year period.
- (5) There shall be paid to the members of the Statutory Committee such remuneration and such travelling, subsistence or other expenses as the Council may determine.
- (6) The expenses of the Statutory Committee (including any such fees payable to any of the members thereof as may be fixed by the Council) shall be defrayed by the Society.
 - (7) The quorum of the Statutory Committee shall be 3 which must include—
 - (a) the chair or a deputy chair;
 - (b) a lay member; and
 - (c) a member who is a registered person.
 - (8) The Council may by regulations make provision as to—
 - (a) the procedure of the Statutory Committee (including the validation of proceedings in the event of vacancies or defects in appointment);
 - (b) the grounds on which persons are to be disqualified from appointment as members of the Statutory Committee; and
 - (c) the circumstances in which members cease to hold office or may be removed or suspended from office.".