STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2010 No. 43

The Police Service of Northern Ireland Pensions (Amendment) Regulations 2010

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) These regulations may be cited as the Police Service of Northern Ireland Pensions (Amendment) Regulations 2010.
 - (2) Subject to paragraph (3) these regulations come into operation on 1st April 2010.
 - (3) Regulation 2 has effect from 1st April 2004 until 30th September 2006(1).
- (4) In these regulations "the 1988 Regulations" means the Royal Ulster Constabulary Pensions Regulations 1988(2).

Member's ordinary pension

- **2.**—(1) Regulation B1 (member's ordinary pension) of the 1988 Regulations is amended as follows.
 - (2) After paragraph (3)(a) insert—
 - "(aa) being of a rank above chief superintendent and not being subject to any procedures under regulations made under section 25(2)(e) of the Police (Northern Ireland) Act 1998, he retires or retired on or after attaining the age of 50 years having given to the Board 6 months' written notice of his intention to retire;".

Commutation – general provision

- **3.**—(1) Regulation B7 (commutation general provision) of the 1988 Regulations is amended as follows.
 - (2) After paragraph (4) insert—
 - "(4A) The Board may, as the request of a member who retires or retired—
 - (a) no more than one day before being entitled to reckon 30 years' pensionable service, and
 - (b) before attaining the age of 50 years,

decide that the limitation contained in paragraph (4)(b) should not apply in his case.".

⁽¹⁾ Retrospective effect is permitted by Articles 14 and 15 of the Superannuation (Northern Ireland) Order 1972.

⁽²⁾ S.R. 1988 No. 374. Relevant amending regulations are S.R. 2004 No. 384, S.R. 2006 No. 123, S.R. 2006 No. 268 and S.R. 2009 No. 143.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Northern Ireland Office 8 February 2010

Paul Goggins Minister of State

We consent to the making of these regulations

Dave Watts
Frank Roy
Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her
Majesty's Treasury

22 February 2010