STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2007 No. 333

PLANT HEALTH

The Plant Health (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2007

Made - - - - 10th July 2007

Coming into operation 30th October 2007

The Department of Agriculture and Rural Development(1), in exercise of the powers conferred by section 3(1)(2) of the Plant Health Act (Northern Ireland) 1967(3), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Plant Health (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2007 and shall come into operation on 30th October 2007.

Amendment to the Plant Health Order (Northern Ireland) 2006

- **2.**—(1) Schedule 14 Part B to the Plant Health Order (Northern Ireland) 2006(**4**) shall be amended in accordance with paragraphs (2) to (4).
- (2) In the definition of District No. 1 (County Down), paragraph (b) (Killough, Downpatrick, Dundrum and Seaforde Area) shall be omitted.
- (3) In the definition of District No. 2 (Mid-Ulster), the following townlands shall be omitted—Ballycomlargy, Ballyheifer, Ballymully, Brackagh (E.D. Lissan Upper), Caneese, Carmean, Carncose, Carndaisy, Carrydarragh, Clagan, Claggan (E.D. Lissan Lower), Coltrim, Coolshinny, Corick, Cranny, Crossnarea, Curr, Derrycrummy, Derryganarrd, Dirnan, Drumard (E.D. Lissan Upper), Drumgrass, Drummeen, Dunarnon, Dunman, Dunmore, Dunnabraggy, Feenan Beg, Feenan More, Glebe (E.D. Lissan Upper), Glebe (E.D. Magherafelt), Gortanewry, Killybasky, Killyboggin, Killyneese, Knockadoo, Larrycormick, Leckagh, Lecumpher, Letteran, Lisalbanagh, Magherascullion, Megargy, Mobuy, Moneymore (E.D. Moneymore), Moymucklemurry, Muff, Mullaghboy (E.D. Aghagaskin), Polepatrick, Quilly, Rossmore, Tamlaghtmore, Tamnadeese, Tamnadoey, Tirgan, Town Parks of Magherafelt, Tullynagee, Turnaface.
 - (4) In the definition of District No. 4 (Ballycastle), the following townlands shall be omitted—

⁽¹⁾ Formerly the Department of Agriculture for Northern Ireland; seeS.I. 1999/283 (N.I. 1) Art. 3(4)

⁽²⁾ As amended by S.R. & O. (N.I.) 1972 No 351 Art. 3 and Sch. 2

^{(3) 1967} c. 28 (N.I.)

⁽⁴⁾ S.R. 2006 No. 82

Ballyberidagh North, Ballyberidagh South, Brackney, Broughmore, Coolaveely, Drumahitt, Drumavoley, Drumeeny, Eglish, Farranmacarter, Mullarts.

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development on 10^{th} July 2007.



John Speers
A senior officer of the Department of Agriculture
and Rural Development

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Plant Health Order (Northern Ireland) 2006 by removing certain townlands previously scheduled as safety zones to protect against spread of potato wart disease (PWD). Previously the varieties of potatoes grown in these townlands were restricted, by the Plant Health Order (Northern Ireland) 2006, to PWD resistant types. The Order lifts restrictions on the growing of potatoes in the former safety zones as provided in Article 2.