STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2002 No. 400

LAND REGISTRATION

Compulsory Registration of Title Order (Northern Ireland) 2002

Made 18th December 2002 Coming into operation 1st April 2003

The Department of Finance and Personnel, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by section 25(1) of the Land Registration Act (Northern Ireland) 1970(1) and now vested in it(2) and of every other power enabling it in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Compulsory Registration of Title Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 and shall come into operation on 1st April 2003.
- (2) In this Order "local government district" means a local government district constituted by the Local Government (Boundaries) Order (Northern Ireland) 1992(3).

Compulsory registration area

2. It is hereby declared that the local government districts listed in column (1) of the Schedule to the extent that they fall within the County specified opposite thereto in column (2) shall be compulsory registration areas for the purposes of entry 2(4) in Part I of Schedule 2 to the Land Registration Act (Northern Ireland) 1970 from 1st April 2003.

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Finance and Personnel on 18th December 2002.

L.S.

D. Sterling A Senior Officer of the Department of Finance and Personnel

 ¹⁹⁷⁰ c. 18 (N.I.) as amended by S.I.1992/811 (N.I. 7)Art. 11
The powers were transfered by the Department of Finance to the Department of the Environment by S.I. 1982/338 (N.I. 6) Art. 5(b) and Schedule 1 Part II and were transferred from the Department of the Environment to the Department of Finance and Personnel by S.R. 1999 No. 481 Article 6(b) and Schedule 4 Part II

⁽³⁾ S.R. 1992 No. 303

⁽⁴⁾ Entry 2 has been amended by S.I. 1992/811 (N.I. 7) Article 51 and Schedule 1 paras 2(1) and 4(8)

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

| Column (1) | Column (2) | |
|---------------------------|-------------|--|
| Local Government District | County(5) | |
| Derry | Londonderry | |
| Limavady | | |
| Coleraine | | |
| Magherafelt | | |
| Cookstown | | |
| Strabane | Tyrone | |
| Omagh | | |
| Dungannon | | |
| Cookstown | | |
| Armagh | | |
| Fermanagh | | |
| Fermanagh | Fermanagh | |
| | | |

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

This Order declares Counties Fermanagh, Tyrone and Londonderry to be compulsory registration areas under the Land Registration (Northern Ireland) Act 1970 upon the commencement of this Order on 1st April 2003. The type of property transaction which triggers a compulsory registration within that area is defined by entry 2 of Schedule 2 to the aforesaid Act.

Four previous areas of compulsory registration were declared, three within County Down by the Compulsory Registration of Title Order (Northern Ireland) 1995 (S.R. 1995 No. 412), the Compulsory Registration of Title Order (Northern Ireland) 1999 (S.R. 1999 No. 455) and the Compulsory Registration of Title Order (Northern Ireland) 2000 (S.R. 2000 No. 312) and one within County Armagh by the Compulsory Registration of Title Order (Northern Ireland) 2001.

⁽⁵⁾ As constituted under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898 (>1898 c. 37)