Search Legislation

Explanatory Memorandum to Criminal Justice (Northern Ireland) Order 2004

Main Elements of the Order

6.The Order contains 36 Articles and 3 Schedules and is divided into 5 Parts. Part I (Articles 1 and 2) makes introductory provisions. Part II (Articles 3 to 9) amends PACE. Part III (Articles 10 to 15) relates to the use of live links in certain criminal proceedings, whilst Part IV (Article 16 to 33) relates to the prosecution right to appeal to the Court of Appeal in trials on indictment.

7.Part V (Articles 34 to 36) contains supplementary provisions and relate to Orders, repeals and supplementary and consequential amendments. Commentary is provided, below, on Articles 3 to 36. Schedule 1 contains amendments related to Part II, Schedule 2 sets out qualifying offences for the purposes of Article 21 and Schedule 3 lists provisions to be repealed.

Back to top


Print Options


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources