EN

COMMISSION DECISION

of 3 April 2003

amending Decision 93/52/EEC as regards the recognition of certain Italian provinces as officially free of brucellosis

(notified under document number C(2003) 1083)

(Text with EEA relevance)

(2003/237/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 91/68/EEC of 28 January 1991 on animal health conditions governing intra-Community trade in ovine and caprine animals (¹), as last amended by Commission Decision 2002/261/EC (²), and in particular Annex A, Chapter 1, point II, thereto,

Whereas:

- In the Italian Region of Sardinia (Provinces of Cagliari, Nuoro, Sassari, and Oristano) and in the Region of Tuscany (Province of Arezzo) brucellosis has been a notifiable disease for at least five years.
- (2) In the Provinces of Arezzo, Cagliari, Nuoro, Sassari, and Oristano at least 99,8 % of the ovine or caprine holdings are officially brucellosis-free holdings. These Provinces undertake, furthermore, to comply with Annex A, Chapter 1, point II(2), to Directive 91/68/EEC.
- (3) The Provinces of Arezzo, Cagliari, Nuoro, Sassari, and Oristano should consequently be recognised as officially free of brucellosis (B. *melitensis*).

- (4) Commission Decision 93/52/EEC (³), as last amended by Decision 2003/44/EC (⁴), should therefore be amended accordingly.
- (5) The measures provided for in this Decision are in accordance with the opinion of the Standing Committee on the Food Chain and Animal Health,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Annex II to Decision 93/52/EEC is replaced by the text in the Annex to this Decision.

Article 2

This Decision is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 3 April 2003.

For the Commission David BYRNE Member of the Commission

^{(&}lt;sup>1</sup>) OJ L 46, 19.2.1991, p. 19. (²) OJ L 91, 6.4.2002, p. 31.

 ^{(&}lt;sup>3</sup>) OJ L 13, 21.1.1993, p. 14.
(⁴) OJ L 13, 18.1.2003, p. 37.

EN

ANNEX

'ANNEX II

In France:

Ain, Aisne, Allier, Ardèche, Ardennes, Aube, Aveyron, Cantal, Charente, Charente-Maritime, Cher, Corrèze, Côte-d'Or, Côtes-d'Armor, Creuse, Deux-Sèvres, Dordogne, Doubs, Essonne, Eure, Eure-et-Loir, Finistère, Gers, Gironde, Hauts-de-Seine, Haute-Loire, Haute-Vienne, Ille-et-Vilaine, Indre, Indre-et-Loire, Jura, Loir-et-Cher, Loire, Loire-Atlantique, Loiret, Lot-et-Garonne, Lot, Lozère, Maine-et-Loire, Manche, Marne, Mayenne, Morbihan, Nièvre, Nord, Oise, Orne, Pas-de-Calais, Puy-de-Dôme, Rhône, Haute-Saône, Saône-et-Loire, Sarthe, Seine-Maritime, Seine-Saint-Denis, Territoire de Belfort, Val-de-Marne, Val-d'Oise, Vendée, Vienne, Yonne, Yvelines, Ville de Paris, Vosges.

In Italy:

Arezzo, Bolzano, Cagliari, Nuoro, Sassari, and Oristano.

In Portugal:

Autonomous Region of Azores.

In Spain:

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Las Palmas.'