WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 3277 (W.315)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The County Borough of The Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

Made - - - 6th December 2002 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

In pursuance of sections 58(1) and 64 of the Local Government Act 1972(1) the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales submitted proposals in March 2001 for the future electoral arrangements for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan. The National Assembly for Wales having agreed with the proposals makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred on it by sections 58(2) and 67(4) and (5) of the Act.

Name, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order is called The County Borough of The Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.

(2) This Order will come into force:

- (a) for the purposes of proceedings, preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the 6th May 2004, on the 9th October 2003, and
- (b) for all other purposes, on 6th May 2004.
- (3) In this Order —

"the Act" ("y Ddeddf") means the Local Government Act 1972;

"electoral division" ("*adran etholiadol*") means an electoral division of the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan constituted by the Vale of Glamorgan Electoral Arrangements Order 1994(**2**);

"map" ("*map*") means the map marked "map of the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" and deposited in accordance with Regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(**3**).

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

⁽²⁾ This Order was made on the 19th of December 1994 by the Secretary of State for the Home Department.

⁽³⁾ S.I.1976/246, as amended by the Local Government Area Changes (Amendment) Regulations 1978 (S.I. 1978/247).

Electoral Divisions

2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan specified in the Schedule to the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan Electoral Arrangements Order 1994 are abolished.

(2) For the purposes of the elections of councillors for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan, that County shall be divided into 23 electoral divisions bearing the names specified in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division is to comprise the area specified in column (2) of that Schedule, as designated on the map and demarcated by red lines.

(3) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division is to be the number specified in relation to the division in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

Register of Local Government Electors

3. The registration officer will make such re-arrangements or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary due to the coming into force of this Order.

Signed on behalf of the National Assembly for Wales

E. Hart Minister for Local Government, Finance and Communities

6th December 2002

2

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

Names, areas and numbers of councillors for the electoral divisions of the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan

(1) Name of Electoral Division	(2) Area of Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Baruc	The Baruc ward of the Community of Barry	2
Buttrills	The Buttrills ward of the Community of Barry	2
Cadoc	The Cadoc ward of the Community of Barry	3
Castleland	The Castleland ward of the Community of Barry	2
Cornerswell	The Cornerswell ward of the Community of Penarth	2
Court	The Court ward of the Community of Barry	2
Cowbridge	The Communities of Cowbridge with Llanblethian, Llanfair and Penllyn	3
Dinas Powys	The Communities of Dinas Powys and Michaelston	4
Dyfan	The Dyfan ward of the Community of Barry	2
Gibbonsdown	The Gibbonsdown ward of the Community of Barry	2
Illtyd	The Illtyd ward of the Community of Barry	3
landough	The Community of Llandough	1
Llandow/ Ewenny	The Communities of Colwinston, Ewenny, Llandow and Llangan	1
Llantwit Major	The Communities of Llan- maes, Llantwit Major and St. Donats	4
Peterston-super- Ely	The Communities of Pendoylan, Peterston-super— Ely, St. Georges-super— Ely and Welsh St. Donats	1
Plymouth	The Plymouth ward of the Community of Penarth	2

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1) Name of Electoral Division	(2) Area of Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Rhoose	The Communities of Llancarfan and Rhoose	2
St. Athan	The Community of St. Athan	1
St. Augustine's	The St. Augustine's ward of the Community of Penarth	2
St. Bride's Major	The Communities of St. Bride's Major and Wick	1
Stanwell	The Stanwell ward of the Community of Penarth	2
Sully	The Community of Sully	2
Wenvoe	The Communities of St. Nicholas and Bonvilston and Wenvoe	1



EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review the electoral arrangements as soon as practicable after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of March 2001 for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County Borough and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority will remain the same.

There is no change to the divisions of Baruc, Buttrills, Cadoc, Castleland, Cornerswell, Court, Cowbridge, Dinas Powys, Dyfan, Gibbonsdown, Illtyd, Llandough, Llandow/Ewenny, Llantwit Major, Peterston-super-Ely, Rhoose, St. Athan, St. Bride's Major, Stanwell, Wenvoe.

The existing electoral division of Alexandra is divided to create two new electoral divisions called, **Plymouth** and **St. Augustine's.**

The electoral division of **Plymouth** is to consist of the Plymouth ward of the community of Penarth. The division to be represented by two councillors.

The electoral division of **St. Augustine's** is to consist of the St. Augustine's ward of the community of Penarth. The division is to be represented by two councillors.

The number of councillors representing the existing division of Sully increases from one to two.

The areas of the new divisions are demarcated on the detailed map described in Article 2, prints of which may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of The Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council and at the offices of the National Assembly for Wales, Cathays Park, Cardiff, CF10 3NQ (Local Government Modernisation Division).