STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2019 No. 55

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The South Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2019

Made--16th January 2019Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) to (4)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(1), South Norfolk District Council ("the Council") made recommendations in a review to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) for the related alteration of the boundaries of a district ward and county electoral division within the Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of that Act.

### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Norfolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2019.
- (2) This article comes into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Article 2 comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2019.
- (4) Article 3 comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2021.

 <sup>2007</sup> c. 28. Section 92 was amended by paragraph 32 of Schedule 4 to the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20) ("the 2009 Act").

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act. The functions of the Electoral Commission under Chapter 3 of Part 4 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 ("the 2007 Act") were transferred under section 60 of the 2009 Act to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 1st April 2010.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

#### Alteration of district ward boundary

2. The area that ceases to be part of the parish listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1 and becomes part of the parish listed in the second column of that table in consequence of the South Norfolk District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2018(4), ceases to be part of the district ward listed in the third column of that table and becomes part of the district ward listed in the fourth column of that table.

### Alteration of county electoral division boundary

**3.** The area that ceases to be part of the parish listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 2 and becomes part of the parish listed in the second column of that table in consequence of the South Norfolk District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2018, ceases to be part of the electoral division listed in the third column of that table and becomes part of the electoral division listed in the table.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

16th January 2019

<sup>(4)</sup> That Order was made by South Norfolk District Council under section 86 of the 2007 Act on 7th June 2018; such Orders are not required to be made by statutory instrument. A hard copy of that Order is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of South Norfolk District Council, South Norfolk House, Cygnet Court, Long Stratton, Norwich, NR15 2XE, and may also be accessed online at https://www.south-norfolk.gov.uk/sites/default/files/SN%20Community%20Governance %20Review%20Order.pdf.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

		SCHEDULE 1	Α	article 2
(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	
From parish	To parish	From district ward	To district ward	
Wortwell	Alburgh	Harleston	Ditchingham Earsham	&
	SCHEDULE 2		Article 3	
	5	SCHEDULE 2	A	article 3
(1)	(2)	SCHEDULE 2 (3)	(4)	Article 3
(1) From parish				

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

#### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by South Norfolk District Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of county electoral division and district ward boundaries.

These alterations are a consequence of changes to certain parish boundaries under the South Norfolk District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2018, relating to the parishes of Alburgh, Bawburgh, Costessey and Wortwell, made under section 86 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 by South Norfolk District Council. A hard copy of that Order is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of South Norfolk District Council, South Norfolk House, Cygnet Court, Long Stratton, Norwich, NR15 2XE.

The change to the district ward boundary under article 2 applies in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2019.

The change to the county electoral division under article 3 applies in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2021.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.