STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 64

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - 19th January 2016 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated September 2015 stating its recommendation for changes to the electoral arrangements for the county of Dorset. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2017.

Interpretation

2. In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

Divisions of the county of Dorset and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing divisions of the county of Dorset are abolished.
- (2) The county of Dorset is divided into 40 divisions as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each division comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the division.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is the number specified in relation to that division in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Blandford Forum and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Blandford Forum are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Blandford Forum is divided into five parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Wareham St Martin and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wareham St Martin are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Wareham St Martin is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Wool and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wool are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Wool is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



19th January 2016

Colin Mellors
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

Names of county divisions and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of county division	Number of councillors	
In the borough of Christchurch		
Burton Grange	1	
Christchurch Central	1	
Commons	1	
Mudeford & Highcliffe	1	
Walkford	1	
In the district of East Dorset		
Colehill East and Stapehill	1	
Colehill West & Wimborne Minster	1	
Corfe Mullen	1	
Cranborne Chase	1	
Ferndown	2	
Moors	2	
Verwood	2	
In the district of North Dorset		
Blackmore Vale	1	
Blandford Forum	1	
Gillingham	2	
Hambledon	1	
Shaftesbury	1	
Stalbridge & The Beacon	1	
Winterborne	1	
In the district of Purbeck		
Lytchett Minster & Upton	1	
North West Purbeck	1	
South Purbeck	1	
Swanage	1	
Wareham	1	
In the district of West Dorset		
Beaminster	1	

(1)	(2)
Name of county division	Number of councillors
Bridport	2
Chickerell & Chesil Bank	1
Dorchester	2
Linden Lea	•
Marshwood Vale	1
Sherborne Rural	1
Sherborne Town	1
Three Valleys	1
In the borough of Weymouth & Portland	
Broadwey	1
Lodmoor	1
Portland Harbour	1
Portland Tophill	1
Rodwell	1
Westham	1
Weymouth Town	1

SCHEDULE 2 Articles 4 to 6

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Blandford Forum

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Blandford Badbury Heights	1
Blandford Central	6
Blandford Hilltop	2
Blandford Langton St Leonards	4
Blandford Old Town	3

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Wareham St Martin

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Holton Heath	2	
Sandford	9	
	Table 3	
W	ards of the parish of Wool	
(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
ъ .	(
Bovington	6	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the county of Dorset following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the county remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 3 abolishes the existing divisions of the county of Dorset and replaces them with 40 new ones. That article and the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new divisions.

Articles 4 to 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Blandford Forum, (ii) Wareham St Martin and (iii) Wool respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new county divisions and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/dorset. The map is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.