STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2013 No. 69

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Purbeck (Electoral Changes) Order 2013

Made - - - 16th January 2013 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated September 2012 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Purbeck. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and Commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Purbeck (Electoral Changes) Order 2013.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Purbeck (Electoral Changes) Order 2013", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Purbeck and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Purbeck are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into 13 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographic feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Lytchett Minster and Upton and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Lytchett Minster and Upton are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Lytchett Minster and Upton is divided into two wards named respectively-
 - (a) Lytchett Minster and Upton East;
 - (b) Lytchett Minster and Upton West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Lytchett Minster and Upton East ward.
- (5) Eight councillors are to be elected for Lytchett Minster and Upton West ward.

Wards of the parish of Swanage and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Swanage are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Swanage is divided into two wards named respectively-
 - (a) Swanage North;
 - (b) Swanage South.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for each of Swanage North ward and Swanage South ward.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 16th day of January 2013



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

16th January 2012

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Bere Regis	1
Castle	1
Creech Barrow	1
Langton	1
Lulworth and Winfrith	1
Lytchett Matravers	2
Lytchett Minster and Upton East	2
Lytchett Minster and Upton West	2
St Martin	2
Swanage North	3
Swanage South	3
Wareham	3
Wool	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Purbeck following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 13 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

Articles 4 and 5 replace the wards of the parishes of (i) Lytchett Minster and Upton and (ii) Swanage respectively. Those articles and the map establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/dorset/purbeck-fer. The map is also available for

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of the District of Purbeck Council, Westport House, Worgret Road, Wareham, Dorset, BH20 4PP and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76–86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.