STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2010 No. 1635

LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Land Registration (Proper Office) Order 2010

Made - - - - 19th June 2010

Laid before Parliament 22nd June 2010

Coming into force - 1st October 2010

The Lord Chancellor makes the following order in exercise of the power conferred on him by section 100(3) of the Land Registration Act 2002(1).

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Land Registration (Proper Office) Order 2010 and shall come into force on 1 October 2010.

Applications to which this Order applies

- **2.**—(1) This Order applies to any application to the registrar except an application delivered to the registrar—
 - (a) in accordance with a written arrangement as to delivery made between the registrar and the applicant or between the registrar and the applicant's conveyancer, or
 - (b) under the provisions of any relevant notice given under Schedule 2 to the Land Registration Rules 2003(2).
 - (2) In this article "conveyancer" means—
 - (a) a solicitor,
 - (b) a licensed conveyancer within the meaning of section 11(2) of the Administration of Justice Act 1985(3),
 - (c) a fellow of the Institute of Legal Executives,
 - (d) a barrister,
 - (e) a duly certificated notary public, or

^{(1) 2002} c.9

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2003/1417, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

^{(3) 1985} c.61.

(f) a registered European lawyer within the meaning of the European Communities (Lawyer's Practice) Regulations 2000(4) who by virtue of regulations 6 and 12 of those Regulations is entitled to prepare for remuneration an instrument creating or transferring an interest in land in England and Wales.

Designation of the proper office

- **3.**—(1) The proper office for the receipt of an application to which this Order applies is any office of the land registry specified in column 1 of the Schedule which is opposite an administrative area shown in column 2 of the Schedule in which the land to which that application relates is wholly or partly situated.
- (2) In the Schedule, reference to an office of the land registry does not include any sub-office of that office.

Revocation

4. The Land Registration (Proper Office) (No. 2) Order 2009(5) is revoked.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Lord McNally
Minister of State
Ministry of Justice

19th June 2010

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 2000/1119, relevant amending instruments are S.I. 2004/1628, 2008/81.

⁽⁵⁾ S.I. 2009/2727.

SCHEDULE Article 3

Column 1	Column 2
Proper office of the land registry	Administrative Area
Land Registry, Birkenhead Office	Cheshire East
	Cheshire West and Chester
	Halton
	Hammersmith and Fulham
	Havering
	Kensington and Chelsea
	Knowsley District
	Liverpool District
	Redbridge
	Sefton District
	St Helens District
	Staffordshire
	City of Stoke-on-Trent
	Warrington
	Wirral District
Land Registry, Coventry Office	Birmingham District
	City of Brighton & Hove
	Coventry District
	Dudley District
	East Sussex
	Sandwell District
	Solihull District
	Walsall District
	City of Wolverhampton District

Column 1	Column 2
Proper office of the land registry	Administrative Area
	Worcestershire
Land Registry, Croydon Office	Bexley
	Bromley
	Camden
	Croydon
	Kingston Upon Thames
	Merton
	Sutton
	City of Westminster

Land Registry, Durham Office	Cumbria
	Darlington
	County Durham
	Gateshead District
	Hartlepool
	Middlesborough
	Newcastle Upon Tyne District
	North Tyneside District
	North Yorkshire
	Northumberland
	Redcar and Cleveland
	South Tyneside District
	Stockton-on-Tees
	Sunderland District
	Surrey
	West Sussex

	York	
Land Registry, Fylde Office	Blackburn with Darwen	
	Blackpool	
	Bolton District	
	Bury District	
	Lancashire	
	Manchester District	
	Oldham District	
	Rochdale District	
	Salford District	
	Stockport District	
	Tameside District	
	Trafford District	
	Wigan District	
Land Registry, Gloucester Office	Bracknell Forest	
	City of Bristol	
	Gloucestershire	
	Oxfordshire	
	Reading	
	Slough	
	South Gloucestershire	
	Warwickshire	
	West Berkshire	
	Windsor and Maidenhead	
	Wokingham	
Land Registry, Kingston Upon Hull Office	East Riding of Yorkshire	
	City of Kingston upon Hull	

Document Generated: 2023-08-05

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Lincolnshire
Norfolk
North East Lincolnshire
North Lincolnshire
Suffolk

Land Registry, Leicester Office	Buckinghamshire
	Hertfordshire
	Leicester
	Leicestershire
	Milton Keynes
	Northamptonshire
	Rutland
Land Registry, Nottingham Office	Barnsley District
	Bradford District
	Calderdale District
	City of Derby
	Derbyshire
	Doncaster District
	Kent
	Kirklees District
	Leeds District
	Medway
	City of Nottingham
	Nottinghamshire
	Rotherham District
	Sheffield District

Wakefield District	
Bedford	
Cambridgeshire	
Central Bedfordshire	
Essex	
Luton	
City of Peterborough	
Southend-on-Sea	
Thurrock	
Bath & North East Somerset	
Cornwall	
Devon	
Isles of Scilly	
North Somerset	
City of Plymouth	
Sedgemoor	
Taunton Deane	
Torbay	
West Somerset	
Barking and Dagenham	
Greenwich	
County of Herefordshire	
Lambeth	
Lewisham	
Newham	
Richmond upon Thames	
Shropshire	

Document Generated: 2023-08-05

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Southwark
Wandsworth
County of The Wrekin (otherwise known as The Wrekin)

Land Registry, Wales Office	All counties and county boroughs in Wales	
Cofrestrfa Tir Swyddfa Cymru	Barnet	
	Brent	
	Ealing	
	Enfield	
	Hackney	
	Haringey	
	Harrow	
	Hillingdon	
	Hounslow	
	The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple	
	Islington	
	City and County of The City of London	
	Tower Hamlets	
	Waltham Forest	
Land Registry, Weymouth Office	Bournemouth	
	Dorset	
	Hampshire	
	Isle of Wight	
	Mendip	
	Poole	
	Portsmouth	
	South Somerset	

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Southampton
Swindon
Wiltshire

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which comes into force on 1 October 2010, designates particular offices of the land registry as the proper office for the receipt of specified descriptions of application under the Land Registration Act 2002. It replaces the Land Registration (Proper Office) (No. 2) Order 2009.

As a consequence of this Order, on 1 October 2010, the Land Registry's Portsmouth, Stevenage and Tunbridge Wells Offices will cease to be proper offices and the administrative areas previously dealt with by them will be administered by offices that remain proper offices, as shown in the following table—

Administrative area	Former proper office	New proper office
Barking & Dagenham	Stevenage	Telford
Brighton & Hove	Portsmouth	Coventry
City of London	Stevenage	Wales
East Hampshire	Portsmouth	Weymouth
East Sussex	Portsmouth	Coventry
Hackney	Stevenage	Wales
Havant	Portsmouth	Weymouth
Havering	Stevenage	Birkenhead
Hertfordshire	Stevenage	Leicester
Inner and Middle Temple	Stevenage	Wales
Isle of Wight	Portsmouth	Weymouth
Islington	Stevenage	Wales
Kent	Tunbridge Wells	Nottingham
Medway	Tunbridge Wells	Nottingham
Newham	Stevenage	Telford
Portsmouth	Portsmouth	Weymouth
Redbridge	Stevenage	Birkenhead

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Administrative area	Former proper office	New proper office
Tower Hamlets	Stevenage	Wales
Waltham Forest	Stevenage	Wales
West Sussex	Portsmouth	Durham

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no significant impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.