STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2007 No. 1022

SUPREME COURT OF ENGLAND AND WALES COUNTY COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2007

Made - - - - 25th March 2007
Laid before Parliament 27th March 2007
Coming into force - - 1st May 2007

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4(2) of Courts Act 2003(1) and after having consulted the affected courts boards as required by section 4(6) of the same Act, makes the following Order:

Citation and Commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2007 and comes into force on 1st May 2007.

Amendments to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004

2. For the Schedule to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004(**2**) substitute the Schedule to this Order.

Revocations

3. The Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2004(**3**) is revoked.

^{(1) 2003} c. 39

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2004/1192, the original Schedule was substituted by the Schedule to S.I. 2004/1303

⁽³⁾ S.I. 2004/1303

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

25th March 2007

Falconer of Thoroton, C.

SCHEDULE

Table 1 England

Column 1	Column 2
Avon and Somerset	The county of Somerset and the non- metropolitan districts of Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire
Bedfordshire, Essex and Hertfordshire	The county of Bedfordshire and the non-metropolitan district of Luton, the county of Essex and the non-metropolitan districts of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock and the county of Hertfordshire
Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and Warwickshire	The metropolitan districts of Birmingham, Coventry and Solihull and the county of Warwickshire.
Black Country, Staffordshire and West Mercia	The metropolitan districts of Wolverhampton, Walsall, Dudley and Sandwell, the county of Staffordshire and the non-metropolitan district of Stoke-on-Trent and the counties of Shropshire and Worcestershire and the non-metropolitan districts of Herefordshire and Telford and The Wrekin
Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk	The county of Cambridgeshire, the non-metropolitan district of Peterborough and the counties of Norfolk and Suffolk
Cheshire and Merseyside	The metropolitan districts of Knowsley, Liverpool, St. Helens, Sefton and Wirral and the county of Cheshire and the non-metropolitan districts of Halton and Warrington
Cleveland, Durham and Northumbria	The non-metropolitan districts of Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees, the county of Durham and the non-metropolitan district of Darlington and the county of Northumberland and the metropolitan districts of Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland
Cumbria and Lancashire	The counties of Cumbria and Lancashire and the non-metropolitan districts of Blackburn with Darwen and Blackpool
Derbyshire and Nottingham	The county of Nottinghamshire and the non-metropolitan district of Nottingham and Derbyshire
Devon and Cornwall	The counties of Devon and Cornwall, the non-metropolitan districts of Plymouth and Torbay and the Isles of Scilly

Dorset, Gloucestershire and Wiltshire	The county of Dorset and the non-metropolitan districts of Bournemouth and Poole, the counties of Gloucestershire and Wiltshire and the non-metropolitan district of Swindon
Greater Manchester	The metropolitan districts of Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan
Hampshire and Isle of Wight	The counties of Hampshire and Isle of Wight and the non-metropolitan districts of Portsmouth and Southampton
Humber and South Yorkshire	The non-metropolitan districts of the East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull, North East Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire and the metropolitan districts of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield
Kent	The county of Kent and the non-metropolitan district of Medway
Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, and Rutland and Northamptonshire	The county of Leicestershire and the non-metropolitan districts of Leicester and Rutland and the counties of Lincolnshire and Northamptonshire
London	Greater London
North and West Yorkshire	The county of North Yorkshire and the non-metropolitan district of York and the metropolitan districts of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield
Surrey and Sussex	The county of Surrey and the counties of East Sussex and West Sussex and the non-metropolitan district of Brighton and Hove
Thames Valley	The counties of Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire and the non-metropolitan districts of Bracknell Forest, Milton Keynes, Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead and Wokingham

Table 2 Wales

Column 1	Column 2
Mid and West Wales	The counties of Ceredigion, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Powys and Swansea and the County Borough of 'Neath and Port Talbot'
North Wales	The counties of the Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Denbighshire and Flintshire and the county boroughs of Conway and Wrexham
South East Wales	The county of Cardiff and the county boroughs of Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, 'Rhondda Cynon

Document Generated: 2023-07-19

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Taff', Vale of Glamorgan, Monmouthshire,
Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Newport and Torfaen

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which comes in to force on 1st May 2007, substitutes a new Schedule to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004 (made under section 4(2) of the Courts Act 2003). The new Schedule amends the description of courts boards areas in England and Wales to reflect changes in some of the boundaries, which have been altered in order to align with administrative areas of Her Majesty's Courts Service. This Order also revokes the Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2004.