STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 2925

TRANSPORT

RAILWAYS

The Railways (Abolition of the Strategic Rail Authority) Order 2006

Made - - - - 8th November 2006

Coming into force - - 1st December 2006

The Secretary of State makes this Order in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 1(10) of the Railways Act 2005(1).

In accordance with section 1(10) of that Act the Secretary of State has consulted the Strategic Rail Authority and is satisfied that—

- (a) all such transfers have been provided for as will secure that the dissolution of the Strategic Rail Authority will not extinguish any of its liabilities; and
- (b) it is no longer necessary for any other reason for the Strategic Rail Authority to continue to exist.

Citation and commencement

2. This Order may be cited at the Railways (Abolition of the Strategic Rail Authority) Order 2006 and shall come into force on 1st December 2006.

Abolition of the Strategic Rail Authority

3. The Strategic Rail Authority shall cease to exist.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by the authority of the Secretary of State for Transport

8th November 2006

Tom Harris
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department for Transport

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order provides for the abolition of the Strategic Rail Authority ("SRA").

Section 1 of the Railways Act 2005 (the "Act") provides for Secretary of State to make an order for the abolition of the SRA if he is satisfied that such transfers have been made as will secure that the dissolution of the SRA will not extinguish any of its liabilities and if he is satisfied that it is no longer necessary for any other reason for the SRA to continue to exist.

Section 1 of the Act provides that the Secretary of State may make a scheme for the transfer of property, rights and liabilities from the SRA to the following persons:

- (a) the Secretary of State;
- (b) the Scottish Ministers;
- (c) the National Assembly for Wales;
- (d) the Office of Rail Regulation;
- (e) the Rail Passenger Council established under section 19 of the Act; and
- (f) a company which is wholly owned by any of the persons listed from (a) to (d) or is jointly owned by more than one of them.