STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2000 No. 1418

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made--24th May 2000Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated August 1999 on its review of the borough(2) of Oswestry together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

### Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.

(2) This Order shall come into force—

- (a) for the purposes of article 4, on the day after that on which it is made;
- (b) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
- (c) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Oswestry;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Oswestry has the status of a borough.

<sup>(3)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

#### Wards of Oswestry

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into fourteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

# Wards of the parish of Oswestry

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Owestry shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into six parish wards which shall bear the names Cabin Lane, Cambrian, Carreg Llwyd, Castle, Gatacre and Maserfield; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be three.

#### Wards of the parish of Oswestry Rural

**4.** The existing wards of the parish of Oswestry Rural, other than the parish ward of Sychtyn, shall be renamed in accordance with the Table below.

Existing Ward Name	New Ward Name	
Aston	Maesbury with Aston	
Llanforda	Rhydycroesau with Llanforda	
Sweeney	Morda with Sweeney	
Trefonen	Trefonen with Treflach	

#### Revocation

5. The Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

24th May 2000

(5) See the Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 (S.I. 1975/2200).

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

# SCHEDULE

Article 2

# NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of Councillors
Cabin Lane		2
Cambrian		2
Carreg Llwyd		2
Castle		2
Gatacre		2
Gobowen	The parish of Selattyn & Gobowen	3
Kinnerley	The parishes of Kinnerley, Knockin and Melverley	1
Llanyblodwel and Pant	The parishes of Llanyblodwel and Llanymynech & Pant	2
Maserfield		2
Ruyton and West Felton	The parishes of Ruyton-XI- Towns and West Felton	2
St. Martin's	The parish of St Martin's	2
Sweeney and Trefonen	The parish of Oswestry Rural	3
Weston Rhyn	The parish of Weston Rhyn	2
Whittington	The parish of Whittington	2

# **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Oswestry. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of fourteen new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes electoral changes in the parish of Oswestry.

Article 4 alters the names of four of the five parish wards in the parish of Oswestry Rural.

Article 5 revokes the Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Oswestry Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.