SCHEDULE 2

PROTOCOL

Part 1

Article 1

General

- (1) The Administrative Arrangements (Part 2) and the Programmes of Mutual Assistance (Part 3) contained in this Protocol are concluded in conformity with Article 28 of the Convention on Social Security between the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Government of Jamaica.
- (2) The competent authorities designated in Article 3(1) shall agree upon joint procedures and forms necessary for the implementation of the Administrative Arrangements set out in Part 2, and the Management Committee designated in Article 3(2) shall agree upon the instruments necessary for the implementation of the Programmes of Mutual Assistance provided for in Part 3. Article 2
- (1) In accordance with this Protocol and instruments concluded under its terms, the competent authorities of the Parties shall assist each other in administering the laws (and regulations, rules and administrative practices thereunder) in Article 2 of the Convention and, when appropriate, the Convention itself.
- (2) The competent authorities shall not carry out administrative measures or practices that are at variance with the statutes, regulations or administrative practices of either Party.
- (3) All documents required to be tendered for official purposes under the Convention, and/or arising out of this Protocol or future arrangements and instruments, shall be presumed to be official documents so long as they are on official stationery or they bear the official seal or stamp of the relevant Party.

Article 3

Establishment

- (1) For the purposes of Part 2
- (i) the following bodies have been designated the competent authorities for the purposes of the application of the Convention:
 - (a) in the United Kingdom:
 - (i) in Great Britain:

For all contingencies, including pension claims for Northern Ireland, except Articles 5 to 10,

Department of Social Security

Pensions and Overseas Benefits Directorate

Tyneview Park

Whitley Road

Benton

Newcastle upon Tyne

England

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

NE98 1BA

For Articles 5 to 10,

Contributions Agency

Overseas Contributions (RA)

Department of Social Security

Longbenton

Newcastle upon Tyne

England

NE98 1YX

(ii) in Northern Ireland:

For all contingencies except pension claims,

Social Security Agency

Overseas Branch

Commonwealth House

Castle Street

Belfast

Northern Ireland

BT1 1DX

(iii) in the Isle of Man:

For all provisions of the Convention, Isle of Man Department of Health and Social Security

Markwell House

Market Street

Douglas

Isle of Man

(iv) in Jersey:

For all provisions of the Convention,

Employment and Social Security Department

Philip Le Feuvre House

La Motte Street

St Helier

Jersey

Channel Islands

(v) in Guernsey:

For all provisions of the Convention,

Guernsey Social Security Authority

Edward T Wheadon House

Le Truchot

St Peter Port

Guernsey

Channel Islands

GY13WH

(b) in Jamaica:

Ministry of Labour, Social Security and Sport

14 National Heroes Circle

PO Box 10

Kingston 5

Jamaica.

- (ii) In accordance with Article 28 of the Convention the following bodies have been designated liaison offices between the competent authorities of both Parties for the purpose of applying the Convention:
- (a) in the United Kingdom:

The competent authorities listed in Article 3(1)(i)(a).

(b) in Jamaica:

The competent authority listed in Article 3(1)(i)(b).

- (iii) The competent authorities may communicate directly with one another and with any person or institution affected by the Convention or with their legal representative.
- (iv) The competent authorities shall decide the texts of any certificates, reports and forms to be used for the purpose of undertaking the tasks laid down in these Arrangements.
- (2) For the purpose of Part 3
- (i) The Programme of Mutual Assistance shall be under the general direction of a Management Committee (hereinafter referred to as the "Committee"), whose function shall be to undertake the ongoing reviews of the policy and procedures relating to the programme.
- (ii) The Committee shall consist of four members:
 - (a) For the UK:
 - (i) The Territorial Director, Benefits Agency, Department of Social Security, or his designee.
 - (ii) The Head of International Relations Branch, Department of Social Security, or his designee.
 - (b) For Jamaica:
 - (i) The Hon. Minister of Labour, Social Security and Sport or his/her designees.
 - (ii) The Hon. Attorney-General or his/her designees.