Search Legislation

Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971

What Version

 Help about what version
  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As enacted)

Advanced Features

 Help about advanced features

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971. Help about Changes to Legislation


Changes to Legislation

Revised legislation carried on this site may not be fully up to date. At the current time any known changes or effects made by subsequent legislation have been applied to the text of the legislation you are viewing by the editorial team. Please see ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ for details regarding the timescales for which new effects are identified and recorded on this site.


Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971

1971 CHAPTER 9

An Act to provide that Northern Ireland shall be divided into twenty-six local government districts and that each of those districts shall be divided into wards; to appoint a Commissioner to make recommendations regarding the boundaries and names of those districts and wards and the number of wards in each district; and for purposes connected therewith.

[23rd March 1971] F1F2

Annotations: Help about Annotation

Annotations are used to give authority for changes and other effects on the legislation you are viewing and to convey editorial information. They appear at the foot of the relevant provision or under the associated heading. Annotations are categorised by annotation type, such as F-notes for textual amendments and I-notes for commencement information (a full list can be found in the Editorial Practice Guide). Each annotation is identified by a sequential reference number. For F-notes, M-notes and X-notes, the number also appears in bold superscript at the relevant location in the text. All annotations contain links to the affecting legislation.

1Local government districts and wards.N.I.

(1)Northern Ireland shall for the purposes of local government be divided into twenty-six districts to be known as local government districts and shall be so divided that each local government district incorporates the whole or the major part of one of the places specified in Schedule 1.

(2)Each local government district shall be divided into district electoral divisions to be known as wards.

(3)The boundaries and names of the local government districts and the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each of those districts is divided shall be such as are prescribed by an order made under section 4(5).


S.2 rep. by SLR 1976

S.3 rep. by 1975 c.25; SLR 1976

4Implementation of recommendations for new boundaries.N.I.

  • Subs.(1)—(4) rep. by SLR 1976

  • Subs. (5) rep. by SR 1984/209

(6)The validity of any order purporting to be made under subsection (5) and reciting that a draft thereof has been approved by resolution of each House of Parliament shall not be called in question in any legal proceedings whatever.

Ss.5,6 rep. by SLR 1980

7Short title, construction and citation.N.I.

This Act may be cited as the Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 and shall be construed as one with the Local Government Acts (Northern Ireland) 1898 to 1968 and those Acts and this Act may be cited together as the Local Government Acts (Northern Ireland) 1898 to 1971.


Section 1(1).


1.Antrim urban district electoral division.
2.Armagh urban district.
3.Ballycastle urban district.
4.Ballymena borough.
5.Ballymoney urban district.
6.Banbridge urban district.
7.Bangor borough.
8.Belfast county borough.
9.Carrickfergus borough.
10.Castlereagh district electoral division.
11.Coleraine borough.
12.Cookstown urban district.
13.Craigavon urban district.
14.Downpatrick urban district.
15.Dungannon urban district.
16.Enniskillen borough.
17.Larne borough.
18.Limavady urban district.
19.Lisburn borough.
20.Londonderry county borough.
21.Magherafelt district electoral division.
22.Newry urban district.
23.Newtownabbey urban district.
24.Newtownards borough.
25.Omagh urban district.
26.Strabane urban district.


Schedules 2,3 rep. by SLR 1976

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made):The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


See additional information alongside the content

Geographical Extent: Indicates the geographical area that this provision applies to. For further information see ‘Frequently Asked Questions’.

Show Timeline of Changes: See how this legislation has or could change over time. Turning this feature on will show extra navigation options to go to these specific points in time. Return to the latest available version by using the controls above in the What Version box.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources